The Magic found at Liwa

So, the adventure continues.. this time to Liw-Liwa in Zambales.  AAAAAAAAAH….. The Magical Liwa. The very same spot where I learned how to surf.

DSC_0840

DSC_0869

While most of the Manila crowd went to Sinulog to party, I went back to my “surf” birthplace, Liw-liwa last weekend to watch Indio-I perform live at The Circle Hostel (and also to surf!) It’s been a looooong time since I stepped into the waters of Liwa (2007 was the first and last time) but I remember it’s crazy currents and it’s beautiful waves.

Lance and I, missing one weekender short, left Manila sober and pumped up for the weekend at 2 am. His awesome driving skills managed to bring us to Z-land at around 5:30 am. We arrived at the hostel and saw that only Ziggie and Tito Ricky were the ones there (and also Paco, by the sound of his thunderous snores) Upon checking in The Hostel, we were able to get the nicest bunks and decided to doze off for a few hours before surfing.  We were then awakened by the sunlight and the sound of the people chatting.. Now.. let the good times roll.

Upon unloading our boards from the car, we were greeted by warm and familiar faces of the Manila surf scene. Every one was excited to be back in Liwa because those who went before us already gave the people some good news… Z-land had awesome waves. After a quick breakfast at Mommy Phoebe’s, Lance and I carried our boards to the beach. Along the beach, people were finding their own spots to tan, to wax their boards, to have celebratory drinks or to stretch those tight muscles before paddling out.

With our boards fully waxed, we surveyed the beach break in order to know where to paddle out. Lance being the advance surfer, paddled faster to go to the line up while I tried to stay on the inside for the mean time so that I can practice (and get over my fear) my paddling without making a fool of myself. I told myself that this time, no one should push me. True enough, with some courage and stamina because of a good night’s sleep, I caught two good waves just before lunch time.

After a quick lunch of Bagnet at Mommy Phoebe’s, Lance and I went up to the common area of the hostel to have a nap. We agreed to go back into the water at 3pm. Since the common area was a public area, there were a lot of people that were chattering and drinking. So after a few minutes, I went downstairs to the hammock area to stay beside my friend Nobs to have a quick chat with her. While we were hanging out, Indio-i was doing their soundcheck. This very moment stuck in my head because in the middle of my conversation with Nobs (about love!), Vic started singing Diwata and it wasn’t only like a couple of lines, it was the entire song. Nobs and I became quiet to listen to the music and after the “soundcheck” I told her “because of that, I can’t sleep anymore! Time to go back to the beach.”

I woke up Lance and told him that it was already 3 pm. Time to head back into the water. Grabbing our boards, we bumped into a couple of other surfers who told us that there’s going to be a yoga sessions at 3 pm (but after a few minutes, when they found out that the waves were good, the yoga session got cancelled.. Cancelled due to a good surf!)

DSC_0813

DSC_0812

The afternoon session even brought bigger waves and stronger currents. Wiping out is part of the surf scene and I was always a victim of it. I haven’t even started paddling out, I already got smacked on the face by my board. So I just decided that the afternoon is well spent with a bottle of beer and some serenading by the men of Indio-i (they were shooting their music video at that time at the beach and luckily, Lance and I became part of the music video). The afternoon session brought about the crazy side of the Manila surf scene. Endless chatter, drinking beer by the bonfire, fooling around (“The Circle Hostel should have Circle elves.. and they should wear elf Hats”-Soler,2013) added joy and made everyone pumped up.

312477_541174329233843_367625264_n 424173_328956780547444_865242806_n 554544_328961907213598_1886099509_n

(Photo credits to The Circle Hostel for these photos)

DSC_0825

As night fell upon us, everyone started preparing for the Indio-I set while listening to Miko’s acoustic set. He played an awesome version of “Who’s gonna save the world tonight” and “Don’t you worry child”. The bonfire and the free beer provided by the Circle gave warmth to everyone. Indio-i on the other hand pumped up everyone with their awesome set. They played Diwata, Di Mo Lang Alam, Blue Lights, Malungkot na Masaya and 12 other songs. We ended the night with the music mixes of PawFlava, while other people still partied at the beach. It was an awesome night cap for everyone who went to Liwa.

251829_328963240546798_1432832709_n

(photo credit to the Circle Hostel for this photo on Facebook)DSC_0891 DSC_0897 DSC_0911

The next morning, quite hungover from the night before, Lance and I grabbed breakfast while the others at the Circle packed to go to Camara island. Deciding to stay at Liwa, Lance and I grabbed our boards and went back to the beach. The waves were smaller and the current was not as strong so a lot of the beginners paddled out. Again, I caught a wave on my own( but had to stop because there was a beginner who might get injured) After lunch, we hung out at the chill room with the surfers who stayed behind. By 5 pm, we packed our bags (and boards!) and headed back to Manila.

Hearing the thunderous sound of the waves made it hard to say goodbye. But we had to go back to the city. So we packed also the memories and the friendships that we formed in Liwa as we packed our stuff.  The weekend spent at my surf “birthplace” was indeed one for the books. (Lance was a happy camper because of his surprise shots and being able to use his short board, Finally!)

So, Congratulations and Thank you to The Circle Hostel, Zambales, Indio-I, Craig Pulsifer  for the awesome weekend and photos you gave us. Till next time! 🙂

LIVE.LOVE.SURF. Till the next adventure kiddies!

406141_324464264324989_1659514566_n

(photo credit to Craig Pulsifer photography for tagging me in this photo on Facebook)

2 thoughts on “The Magic found at Liwa

Leave a Reply

